hybrid, Luxenbourg


Wednesday, January 12, 2022
Thursday, January 13, 2022

In cooperation with

The European Investment Bank along with the OECD, Columbia University and the European Money and Finance Forum (SUERF), is delighted to announce its 2022 Annual Economics Conference on 12 and 13 January 2022. The event will be held in hybrid format in Luxembourg. As our economies emerge from the Covid-19 pandemic, the policy focus is shifting to questions of long-term transformation: how can we accelerate digitalisation and the climate transition? At the same time, the context is challenging. Supply chain disruptions and rising energy prices are a concern. Policy has been effective in supporting economic recovery throughout the EU, but some countries have been hit even harder than others by the pandemic, and not all are recovering at the same pace. Progress on digitalisation and the energy transition has also been far from uniform. This year’s conference is about how we can speed-up the digital and climate transitions, whilst recognising and mitigating these asymmetries. It will bring together the perspectives of policymakers, academics, leaders in business and finance, as well as Chief Economists from different private and public sector institutions.
Acces the presentations


Wednesday, 12 January 2022
Online connection and registration
Opening remarks
Werner Hoyer President, European Investment Bank,
Now or never - time to accelerate change– Highlights of the 2021-2022 EIB Investment Report
Debora Revoltella Chief Economist, European Investment Bank and SUERF,
Panel session I: Europe: did the crisis serve as an opportunity for accelerating transformation?
Chair: Gelsomnia Vigliotti, Vice President, European Investment Bank
Robert Koopman, Chief Economist, World Trade Organisation
Pier Carlo Padoan, Chairman, UniCredit Board
Peter Praet, former Member of the Executive Board, European Central Bank I SUERF
Mario Nava, Director General, Structural Reforms, European Commission
Coffee break
Panel session II: Debt, Fiscal vs Monetary policy – the way forward
Chair: Ricardo Mourinho Félix, Vice President, European Investment Bank
Laurence Boone, Chief Economist, OECD
Marco Buti, Head of Cabinet, Commissioner Gentiloni, European Commission
Vitor Gaspar, Director, Fiscal Department, International Monetary Fund
Klaus Regling, Managing Director, European Stability Mechanism
Moritz Schularich, Professor of Economics, University of Bonn
Closing address
Charles Michel, President, European Council
Thursday, 13 January 2022
Opening remarks Day 2
Ricardo Mourinho Félix, Vice President, European Investment Bank
Panel Session III: Asymmetric Views – converging or diverging?
Chair: Debora Revoltella, Chief Economist, European Investment Bank I SUERF
Pablo Hernández de Cos, Governor, Bank of Spain
Catherine L. Mann, External member, Monetary Policy Council, Bank of England
Frank Smets, Director General Economics, European Central Bank I SUERF Fellow
Boris Vujčić, Governor, Croatian National Bank
Coffee Break
Panel Session IV: The climate transition as a driver of change
Chair: Laurence Boone, Chief Economist, OECD
Laura Cozzi, Chief Energy Modeller, International Energy Agency
Jos Delbeke, EIB Climate Chair, European University Institute
Ambroise Fayolle, Vice President, European Investment Bank
Sylvie Goulard, Deputy Governor, Bank of France
László Varró, Vice President, Global Business Environment, Shell
Lunch break
Parallel sessions

Session A – Innovation and green transition

Chair: Michala Marcussen, Group Chief Economist and Head of Economic and Sector Research, Société Générale, Vice President of SUERF
Panellists: Marco Annunzita, Chief Economist, General Electric; Roger Havenith, Deputy CEO, European Investment Fund; Christian Kopf, Head of Fixed Income and FX, Union Investment; Jean Christophe Laloux, Director General Operations, European Investment Bank

Session B – Public versus private sector – catalysing investment

Chair: Giorgio Barba Navaretti, Professor of Economics, University of Milan
Panellists: Fritzi Koehler-Geib, Chief Economist, KfW; Ana Gouveia, Economic Adviser, Office of the Portuguese Prime Minister

Coffe break
Panel session V: Policy support through the crisis – lessons learned
Chair: Jan Svejnar, Director, Centre on Global Economic Governance, SIPA, Columbia University I SUERF Fellow
Agnès Benassy-Quéré, Chief Economist, DG Trésor, Ministry Economy and Finance, France
Yuriy Gorodnichenko, Quantedge Presidential Professor of Economics, University of California Berkeley
Francesco Giavazzi, Professor of Economics, Bocconi University
Şebnem Kalemli-Özcan, Neil Moskowitz Endowed Professor of Economics, University of Maryland
Jakob von Weizsäcker, Chief Economist, Federal Ministry of Finance, Germany
Keynote speech
Luigi Zingales, McCormack Distinguished Service Professor of Entrepreneurship and Finance, University of Chicago
Closing keynote
Mathias Cormann, OECD Secretary General