• Linkedin
  • Twitter
  • Youtube

EIB Annual Economics Conference 2022, jointly organised with OECD, SUERF and Columbia University

Accelerating transformation

The European Investment Bank along with the OECD, Columbia University and the European Money and Finance Forum (SUERF), is delighted to announce its 2022 Annual Economics Conference on 12 and 13 January 2022. The event will be held in hybrid format in Luxembourg. As our economies emerge from the Covid-19 pandemic, the policy focus is shifting to questions of long-term transformation: how can we accelerate digitalisation and the climate transition? At the same time, the context is challenging. Supply chain disruptions and rising energy prices are a concern. Policy has been effective in supporting economic recovery throughout the EU, but some countries have been hit even harder than others by the pandemic, and not all are recovering at the same pace. Progress on digitalisation and the energy transition has also been far from uniform. This year’s conference is about how we can speed-up the digital and climate transitions, whilst recognising and mitigating these asymmetries. It will bring together the perspectives of policymakers, academics, leaders in business and finance, as well as Chief Economists from different private and public sector institutions.
Acces the presentations

Wednesday, 12 January 2022
14:00 Online connection and registration
14:30 Opening remarks

Werner Hoyer President, European Investment Bank

Now or never - time to accelerate change– Highlights of the 2021-2022 EIB Investment Report

Debora Revoltella Chief Economist, European Investment Bank and SUERF

Panel session I: Europe: did the crisis serve as an opportunity for accelerating transformation?

Chair: Gelsomnia Vigliotti, Vice President, European Investment Bank

Robert Koopman, Chief Economist, World Trade Organisation

Pier Carlo Padoan, Chairman, UniCredit Board

Peter Praet, former Member of the Executive Board, European Central Bank I SUERF

Mario Nava, Director General, Structural Reforms, European Commission

16:20 Coffee break
16:30 Panel session II: Debt, Fiscal vs Monetary policy – the way forward

Chair: Ricardo Mourinho Félix, Vice President, European Investment Bank

Laurence Boone, Chief Economist, OECD

Marco Buti, Head of Cabinet, Commissioner Gentiloni, European Commission

Vitor Gaspar, Director, Fiscal Department, International Monetary Fund

Klaus Regling, Managing Director, European Stability Mechanism

Moritz Schularich, Professor of Economics, University of Bonn

18:00 Closing address

Charles Michel, President, European Council

Thursday, 13 January 2022
09:30 Opening remarks Day 2

Ricardo Mourinho Félix, Vice President, European Investment Bank

Panel Session III: Asymmetric Views – converging or diverging?

Chair: Debora Revoltella, Chief Economist, European Investment Bank I SUERF

Pablo Hernández de Cos, Governor, Bank of Spain

Catherine L. Mann, External member, Monetary Policy Council, Bank of England

Frank Smets, Director General Economics, European Central Bank I SUERF Fellow

Boris Vujčić, Governor, Croatian National Bank

11:15 Coffee Break
11:30 Panel Session IV: The climate transition as a driver of change

Chair: Laurence Boone, Chief Economist, OECD

Laura Cozzi, Chief Energy Modeller, International Energy Agency

Jos Delbeke, EIB Climate Chair, European University Institute

Ambroise Fayolle, Vice President, European Investment Bank

Sylvie Goulard, Deputy Governor, Bank of France

László Varró, Vice President, Global Business Environment, Shell

12:45 Lunch break
14:15 Parallel sessions

Session A - Innovation and green transition

Chair: Michala Marcussen, Group Chief Economist and Head of Economic and Sector Research, Société Générale, Vice President of SUERF
Panellists: Marco Annunzita, Chief Economist, General Electric; Roger Havenith, Deputy CEO, European Investment Fund; Christian Kopf, Head of Fixed Income and FX, Union Investment; Jean Christophe Laloux, Director General Operations, European Investment Bank

Session B - Public versus private sector – catalysing investment

Chair: Giorgio Barba Navaretti, Professor of Economics, University of Milan
Panellists: Fritzi Koehler-Geib, Chief Economist, KfW; Ana Gouveia, Economic Adviser, Office of the Portuguese Prime Minister

15:30 Coffe break
16:00 Panel session V: Policy support through the crisis – lessons learned

Chair: Jan Svejnar, Director, Centre on Global Economic Governance, SIPA, Columbia University I SUERF Fellow

Agnès Benassy-Quéré, Chief Economist, DG Trésor, Ministry Economy and Finance, France

Yuriy Gorodnichenko, Quantedge Presidential Professor of Economics, University of California Berkeley

Francesco Giavazzi, Professor of Economics, Bocconi University

Şebnem Kalemli-Özcan, Neil Moskowitz Endowed Professor of Economics, University of Maryland

Jakob von Weizsäcker, Chief Economist, Federal Ministry of Finance, Germany

17:15 Keynote speech

Luigi Zingales, McCormack Distinguished Service Professor of Entrepreneurship and Finance, University of Chicago

17:40 Closing keynote

Mathias Cormann, OECD Secretary General


© SUERF - The European Money and Finance Forum 2010-2018 .:. Société Universitaire Européenne de Recherches Financières

Privacy Policy .:. Legal notice

Design by draganmarkovic.net